10 Reasons I Love eBooks

Happy New Year and welcome to the year of the eBook!  What with Apple’s rumored slate or tablet or whatever coming out, and a ton of other interesting hardware hitting the shelves, 2010 is poised to be a great year for ireadiwrite Publishing and our awesome family of authors.  I just wanted to take a few minutes to have a bit of fun and tell you some of the reasons why I like eBooks.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love all books – but eBooks win out for the following reasons:

1. In that hour long line-up at the ferry terminal or border, I don’t have to worry about making sure I remembered to bring that hardcover library book that I borrowed 3 weeks ago.  Why looky here – here on my iPhone is my half-read edition of A Knight on Horseback by Ellen Ekstrom that I stayed up too late reading last night!

2.  Lying in bed, my arms don’t fall asleep trying to hold up that hardcover edition of Anne Rice’s Angel Time.

3.  At the end of the day, when my mommy hands have run 17 loads of laundry, cleaned the bathroom and washed 3 meals of dishes; I don’t need a special prescription strength hand cream or a nearby bowl of water to try to turn the pages of a paper book.

4. Instead of waiting days for my Amazon order to arrive, or fighting the traffic to get to a bookstore; I download my new book in 30-60 seconds and just start reading.

5. Instead of knowing that my new favorite author gets less than a dollar for that $35 plus tax that I just spent at Chapters, I buy through an indie publisher or bookstore where I know the author gets way more for all their hard work.

6. I can buy as many books as I want – without having to buy bookshelves to hold them.

7. I can keep as many books as I want – they don’t clutter up my house or the recycling depot or a landfill – which is where (and believe me when I tell you this), the majority of used books end up.

8. I buy my books knowing that no trees were unnecessarily killed in the transaction.  (What do you think happens to all those books that the publisher printed but didn’t sell?).

9. I can read books knowing I am part of a leading edge movement to the equalization of the publishing process whereby both sides of the equation win – readers get books at a lower cost and writers retain more per book.

10. And finally the cheapskate in me – loves the price!  I can find books offered for free, next to free or what I prefer – FAIR PRICES!

Thanks for indulging my little rant – and if you’d like to weigh in on why you like or dislike ebooks, I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “10 Reasons I Love eBooks

Leave a Reply

