The Must-Read Novel – What’s Yours?

I just did a search for a list of must read novels of all time. Boy, there’s a lot of suggestions. It made me start thinking that I should ask the people I respect the most – writers! If you’re a writer – or an avid reader – I’m curious to know which book you would recommend over any other. The only criteria is that it must be fiction. Oh, and don’t feel you must submit suggestions of acclaimed ‘great’ literature. If you loved a recent YA novel, I want to hear about it.

To kick things off, here are five books that I liked and for me, are completely unforgettable. I can’t wait to hear your suggestions…

Little House on the Prairie – Laura Ingalls Wilder
Memnoch the Devil – Anne Rice
Lord of the Rings – J. R. R. Tolkien
Jurassic Park – Michael Crichton
The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
3 thoughts on “The Must-Read Novel – What’s Yours?

  1. Dean Mayes

    Here’s my attempt.

    The Quiet American – Graeme Greene.
    Ancestor – Scott Sigler.
    The Mosquito Coast – Paul Theroux.
    What Scotland Taught Me – Molly Ringle.
    Heir To The Empire – Tim Zahn.

  2. William Topek

    Must reads? Let me try a few off the top of my head:

    The Maltese Falcon – Dashiell Hammett
    Shibumi – Trevanian
    Live And Let Die – Ian Fleming
    What’s Bred in the Bone – Robertson Davies
    Gorky Park – Martin Cruz Smith
    The Caves of Steel – Isaac Asimov
    Farenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
    The Summer of Katya – Trevanian
    Word of Honor – Nelson DeMille
    The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde – Robert Louis Stevenson
    The Hounds of the Baskervilles – Arthur Conan Doyle
    Magic – William Goldman

  3. Darlene

    My favorites:
    Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
    Emma – Jane Austen
    Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
    Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
    The Diviners – Margaet Laurence
    The English Patient – Michael Ondaatji
    A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry

Leave a Reply

