On Being a Small Press Author – Darlene Foster

Running a small press is just like running a business with a group of employees – well almost. I don’t actually get to see them every day and we can’t gather around the water cooler to chat. Since we all see each other only virtually, I thought it might be nice to ‘introduce’ our authors to both each other and their readers via a series of short interviews. These interviews will run every couple of days for the next month or so – it’s a neat way of finding out how similar authors can be, and yet so different.

_________________________

Today, I’m proud to present Darlene Foster, a Canadian author who has written three young reader books all belonging to the Amanda series. Darlene’s books have been very well received both locally and internationally. Her newest book, Amanda in England: The Missing Novel has just been released. She is actually one of the few Canadian authors we have and she just happens to live about a 15 minute drive away from me. I met her in person, at a local writer’s group and I’m very glad I did.

1. The first book I can remember reading is: Goldilocks and The Three Bears

2. The first book I ever wrote was:  Amanda in Arabia-The Perfume Flask

3. An average day in my life goes like this: Up at 5:45, read for one hour on the bus and Skytrain into Vancouver, deliver job search workshops to unemployed individuals as well as provide one to one employment coaching, take the Skytrain and bus back home (and read), have dinner with my best guy, pet the cat, call my mother, write for two hours, do some social media stuff and go to bed by 10:00.  Of course the weekends are much different but I still write for two hours each day.  Once a week I go to the yoga studio for an hour after dinner. (a treat I granted myself after Amanda in England was completed)

4. I found out about Central Avenue Publishing from:  Michelle’s Dad  I decided to submit my book because: I felt a strong connection with Michelle and knew my book would be in good hands.  She showed genuine interest in the Amanda books.  I will be forever grateful for that meeting.

5. The last book I read was: Local Girls by Alice Hoffman

6. In order for me to sit down and write, I need: A computer.  That is why we have three in our house and only two people (and a cat of course but she isn’t into computers, yet)

7. My ‘day job’ is: Job Search Facilitator/Career Advisor

8. I carve out time to write by:   Not watching TV and doing minimal housework

9. In order to find time to write, I feel as though I sacrifice:  Spending time with friends, but I do try to get together with them from time to time, just not as often as I used to. They understand, thankfully.  (I have amazing friends)

10. I am currently working on: Amanda in Alberta-The Writing on The Stone (working title)

11. The best piece of advice I ever got was from: Jane Goodall and it was: Follow your heart. The other great piece of advice was from my Dad. He said, “Learn something from everyone you meet.”  It has served me well.

12. The best piece of advice I would give is: Never give up on your dreams!

3 thoughts on “On Being a Small Press Author – Darlene Foster

  1. LisainTO

    Great idea for upcoming blog entries! I adore the Amanda Series and was thrilled to meet Darlene at a local launch for Amanda in Spain. She has a wonderful smile that shines from deep within her heart! I wish her continued success.

Leave a Reply

