On Being a Small Press Author – LM DeWalt

Running a small press is just like running a business with a group of employees – well almost. I don’t actually get to see them every day and we can’t gather around the water cooler to chat. Since we all see each other only virtually, I thought it might be nice to ‘introduce’ our authors to both each other and their readers via a series of short interviews. These interviews will run every couple of days for the next month or so – it’s a neat way of finding out how similar authors can be, and yet so different.
______________________________

Today, I’m happy to present LM DeWalt, the author of two successful books, Lily & Datura – both of which are available in English and Spanish. I met LM through some authors who were published with us, but moved on to other pastures. Fortunately for us, LM stuck with us and we’re happy she did. She’s a kind, compassionate person and a very busy one, she’s a student, an ESL teacher, a mother and a writer. I’m not sure how she does it – to tell you the truth. But she does it with grace and beauty, and a remembrance of youth that many of us lose.

1. The first book I can remember reading is: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland or at the time, Alicia en el País de las Maravillas

2. The first book I ever wrote was:  Lily: Book One in the Quest for Reason series

3. An average day in my life goes like this: After I get a cup of coffee, I play some games on Facebook (to wake me up), then I do my schoolwork, and then I start getting ready for work. When I get home from work, I start writing.  On my days off, I get to spend time with my husband and sons.

4. I found out about Central Avenue Publishing from: Another writer who had a book published by Central Avenue Publishing. I decided to submit my book because: After my twenty-some rejections from an agent, I decided to go a different route. It took me a little while but I realized the rejection letters were actually form letters and had nothing at all to do with me. I decided to skip the middleman and go right to the publisher, which was the best move I ever made.

5. The last book I read was: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

6. In order for me to sit down and write, I need: I have to make sure my schoolwork is done first, then I turn the music on and type away until my carpel tunnel says it’s time to stop.

7. My ‘day job’ is: I am an out of work teacher so I started bartending recently. It is a lot of fun and it’s inspiring some interesting characters.

8. I carve out time to write by: Taking advantage of TiVo. I record everything so that I have no television commitments and no excuses.

9. In order to find time to write, I feel as though I sacrifice:  Time with my family, but they are extremely supportive of what I do so they don’t complain (much).

10. I am currently working on: Book three of The Quest for Reason series. I am terrible at titles so it does not have one yet.

11. The best piece of advice I ever got was from: My grandmother and it was: “Always be who you want to be, not who you think you should be.”

12. The best piece of advice I would give is: Never give up on your dreams, no matter how silly you may think them to be.

One thought on “On Being a Small Press Author – LM DeWalt

Leave a Reply

