On Being a Small Press Author – Beverly Cialone

Running a small press is just like running a business with a group of employees – well almost. I don’t actually get to see them every day and we can’t gather around the water cooler to chat. Since we all see each other only virtually, I thought it might be nice to ‘introduce’ our authors to both each other and their readers via a series of short interviews. These interviews will run every couple of days for the next month or so – it’s a neat way of finding out how similar authors can be, and yet so different.
____________________

Today, let’s get to know Beverly Cialone. She’s a master of romance and one of our original authors. Now, all her books are published under our Everheart Books imprint. I have had the pleasure of working with Beverly for over three years and she’s a prolific writer who keeps me, umm – interested – with her fun and engaging romance and erotica titles. She’s a great lady and I’m glad she’s stuck around so long.

1. The first book I can remember reading is:  Like It Is, which was a book for young girls (think pre-teen).  It was a series of short stories, most were dramatic.  The one I remember most was about a brother and sister who found out their mother had cancer.  The girl found out first and had to break the news to her brother.  I enjoyed the book very much.

2. The first book I ever wrote was:  The first “official” book I ever wrote was The Gift.  I say official because I spent years, not to mention countless packs of loose-leaf paper and notebooks, writing.

3. An average day in my life goes like this:  I work for the US Postal Service, but I am not a full-time employee.  On the days I’m not scheduled to work, I am still “on call,” so I usually get up and wait to see if I’m going to be called in to work.  If not, I check my email, Facebook, and then I usually get some writing in.  Some days I play my favorite computer game, The Sims.

4. I found out about Central Avenue Publishing from: Originalpoetry.com.  I decided to submit my book because: I had promised myself that by the time I turned 40, I was going to try to get published. It was definitely time!

5. The last book I read was:  Do Dead People Watch You Shower?

6. In order for me to sit down and write, I need:  Privacy!  Sometimes I need music as inspiration, sometimes I prefer silence. And I ALWAYS have to have my favorite beverage on hand—a tall glass of cold, sweet tea!

7. My ‘day job’ is:  Mail Carrier.

8. I carve out time to write by:  Getting up before the rest of my family does.

9. In order to find time to write, I feel as though I sacrifice:  Sleep!

10. I am currently working on:  The third and final book in my trilogy, Sangria Nights Part 3:  Full Circle. I am also working on another romance, as well as yet another book which is a combination of romance and erotica.

11. The best piece of advice I ever got was from: My mother and it was: “You can do anything and be anything you want to, all you have to do is put your mind to it.”

12. The best piece of advice I would give is:  “Be true to yourself.  Follow your dreams.”

3 thoughts on “On Being a Small Press Author – Beverly Cialone

Leave a Reply

