On Being a Small Press Author – Scott Burkhead

Running a small press is just like running a business with a group of employees – well almost. I don’t actually get to see them every day and we can’t gather around the water cooler to chat. Since we all see each other only virtually, I thought it might be nice to ‘introduce’ our authors to both each other and their readers via a series of short interviews. These interviews will run every couple of days for the next month or so – it’s a neat way of finding out how similar authors can be, and yet so different.

______________________

Today, I’m happy to present Scott Burkhead, another one of our veterans. Scott has written some wonderful dystopian fiction, Sister Serenity and the War of 2059. What I love about this book are the strong female characters and the socio-political commentary. Back when I was getting started, I actively sought out writers and I ran across a short story that Scott had written on his blog – he had me in the first few words. Scott and I don’t talk a lot, but it’s great knowing he’s stuck with us and I always enjoy hearing from him.
1. The first book I can remember reading is: “Call of the Wild,” by Jack London.

2. The first book I ever wrote was: “The Dolphin Revelation”  Man learns to communicate with dolphins and discovers that the oceans are dying.

3. An average day in my life goes like this: 6:00AM: Walk dog.  Write.  read. Shower.  8:30AM: Go to work.  5:00PM: Yoga or swim.  7:30PM: Dinner with wife or friends.  8:00PM:  Write.  Read.  Watch NCIS or Newsroom.  11:00PM bed.

4. I found out about Central Avenue Publishing from: Michelle Halket.  I decided to submit my book because: I liked what she was doing with ebooks and trusted her.

5. The last book I read was:”Meditation”, by Eknath Easwaran.

6. In order for me to sit down and write, I need: Laptop; or pen and yellow pad; or pencil and napkin.

7. My ‘day job’ is: Advertising Agency boss

8. I carve out time to write by:  Finding nooks and crannies in my life.

9. In order to find time to write, I feel as though I sacrifice: I never feel writing is a sacrifice.

10. I am currently working on: A ‘Southern’ coming of age novel called “Roaddog”.

11. The best piece of advice I ever got was from:  My Aunt Margaret.  and it was: No matter how you feel Get up, Suit up, and Show up and you will feel better.

12. The best piece of advice I would give is: Do what you love.

2 thoughts on “On Being a Small Press Author – Scott Burkhead

Leave a Reply

