On Being a Small Press Author – D.E. Hall

Running a small press is just like running a business with a group of employees – well almost. I don’t actually get to see them every day and we can’t gather around the water cooler to chat. Since we all see each other only virtually, I thought it might be nice to ‘introduce’ our authors to both each other and their readers via a series of short interviews. These interviews will run twice a week until December – it’s a neat way of finding out how similar authors can be, and yet so different.

________________________

Today we’re hearing from D.E. Hall, one of our very first authors to have their book distributed by us. I met Don through another author and his book THE GUARDIAN continues to sell three years after we put it out there. I unfortunately don’t get to chat with Don all that much, but it’s nice knowing that he and his book are still around.

1. The first book I can remember reading is:  Moby Dick

2. The first book I ever wrote was: Sin City Vendetta

3. An average day in my life goes like this:  I go to work, come home, news/dinner, try to squeeze in a hour or so of writing, walk my dog, to bed early.  4 am comees early.

4. I found out about Central Avenue Publishing from a publisher search. I decided to submit my book because at the time, it was fairly new and up coming.  I felt that it could only grow from there and I could possibly find a new reader base.  I felt I was getting in at the ground floor.

5. The last book I read was:  Andrew Vachss – “Another Life”

6. In order for me to sit down and write, I need: Solitude, maybe some smooth jazz or even classical music, but mainly solitude with no interuptions.

7. My ‘day job’ is: A locksmith at the Temple, TX VA

8. I carve out time to write by:  If a thought comes to me, if I’m at home, I just stop what I’m doing and sit down and write.  I live alone so it’s pretty easy.  If a thought comes in the middle of the night, I’ll either jot a note or sometimes will get up and write at that time.  If I’m at work or out, I keep a tablet with me and go at the notes I’ve made as soon as I get home.

9. In order to find time to write, I feel as though I sacrifice: The only thing I feel that I sacrifice is time spent doing other things I enjoy like woodworking and reading.  I live alone, so there’s no problem with time sharing.

10. I am currently working on: The sequel to “The Guardian”, a rewrite of my first book “Sin City Vendetta” and trying to put together an outline for an expose’ of the VA in Las Vegas.

11. The best piece of advice I ever got was from:  A Major I knew in the service and it was: That I should go to college and get a degree in Business Management.  From there I went on to get three other degrees and the classes that I had taken that did me the most good was my English Lit. classes and my Creative Writing classes.  If I hadn’t taken his advice and gone back to school, I would never have taken those classes and may never have written the two books that I have.

12. The best piece of advice I would give is:  Never give up.  Don’t assume that you can’t write.  Just go with something you know and keep at it.  Worse case, you’ll have a book with your name on it in a book store.  “That” is a truly great feeling of accomplishment.  Even if you never make a dime from them, that feeling will never go away.  And “Research, Research, Research!!!”  Never too much research.

Leave a Reply

