On Being a Small Press Author – NM Facile

Running a small press is just like running a business with a group of employees – well almost. I don’t actually get to see them every day and we can’t gather around the water cooler to chat. Since we all see each other only virtually, I thought it might be nice to ‘introduce’ our authors to both each other and their readers via a series of short interviews. These interviews will run twice a week until December – it’s a neat way of finding out how similar authors can be, and yet so different.
____________________

Today, I’m chatting with NM Facile, the author of the very successful Across The Hall. NM is a wonderful story teller, writing stories and characters that connect with her readers so well. When her book first came in, I loved sitting down to read/edit it, it was a book that brought me back to my college days and the uncertainty of romance and love that exists when you’re still young. This book has been one of our bestsellers, it continues to sell well two years after its publication and with sales on par with books released by big New York publishers. I’m so proud and pleased for NM, she’s a wonderful gal who more than deserves her success. Her new book, Cure For Pain will be out December 1, 2012, (but digital editions are available now!).

1. The first book I can remember reading is: This is a hard question. I’ve had books around my entire life.  I have clear memories of reading 100 Dresses by Eleanor Estes late at night when I was very young.  I was scared of the dark and had to have the hall light on right next to my door.  I read and reread many books by the light of the hall.  Thanks to back lighting I still read in bed late at night.

2. The first book I ever wrote was: Across the Hall.

3. An average day in my life goes like this: I’m fortunate to have a husband who deals with the morning routines of getting the kids breakfast and off to school.  This allows me to sleep in because I have a tendency to work best late at night. I wake up and read awhile then check email and the news.  I take care of things around the house or sometimes do things with my mom in the afternoons.  Twice a week I spend half days in the classrooms for my two elementary school children.  After school I catch up on how the kids’ days went and sometimes act as a taxi for running between activities.  We have supper as a family then it’s time for homework and bed.  After the little ones are asleep I either spend the rest of the night writing or I watch TV with my husband or teenage son.  I usually spend an hour or more reading before I go to sleep.

4. I found out about Central Avenue Publishing from:  I found Central Avenue Publishing on a search for small independent publishers to submit Across the Hall.  I decided to submit my book because I liked the fact that they were a small but growing company who dealt primarily with digital books.  I’ve been reading digital books for years and see that as the future of the industry.  Central Avenue Publishing submission guidelines were clear and unintimidating, Michelle has excellent credentials in the publishing industry, and the royalties and marketing were fair.  I like knowing that at Central Avenue I am more than a number or just an indy author under their wing, Michelle makes me feel like I’m part of the group.

5. The last book I read was: Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier

6. In order for me to sit down and write, I need: A dark room with music on, sometimes a glass of wine helps, too.

7. My ‘day job’ is: Fortunately right now writing is my ‘day job’ and I hope that it can stay that way.

8. I carve out time to write by: Reading less.  If I wasn’t writing I would spend that time reading.

9. In order to find time to write, I feel as though I sacrifice:  I don’t feel as if I sacrifice anything to find time to write.  In fact I often have a nagging little voice in my head when I’m doing other things, telling me that I could be using that time to write.

10. I am currently working on: An unnamed story set in the 1950’s.  I’m also working with my nine year old daughter on a children’s story.  She came up with the plot and I’m fleshing it out.

11. The best piece of advice I ever got was from my mom. Growing up she always told me “don’t put yourself in a bottle.”  Meaning that I should never confine myself in thoughts or actions to the limitations that people or circumstance may try to put upon me.

12. The best piece of advice I would give is: Whether good or bad, things change, it’s how you look at it and deal with it that makes the difference on the outcome.

Leave a Reply

