Getting Ready for Book Expo America

IMG_0715The past few weeks have been a whirlwind of activity. When we learned about Abbie Williams’ win of a Gold Medal in the Independent Publisher Book Awards, I made the quick decision to attend the gala in New York and also display our 2015 books at Book Expo America. This meant making sure I had samples of books to display, as well as postcards and other materials that people can take away with them.

For the most part, it was easy, but one of the books wasn’t that close to getting a proof done – but I really wanted to show it off. Luckily, my wonderful colleague Meghan Tobin-O’Drowsky did a great job on proofreading and Dean Mayes did his part on making sure everything got back to me in time so that we could unveil The Recipient at BEA. But it’s my one and only copy – so while copies of the other books have been shipped directly to the booth organizers in New York, this one I’ll be keeping close to me so I can pop it on the shelf when I get there.

I leave in less than a week and it’s looking like things are coming together: meetings are arranged, seminars have been added to my calendar, hotel and flights are booked, marketing materials are ready and I’ve laid out my plans for the booths I want to visit. And, since I’ve never been to NYC before, I’ve even figured out which sights I want to see. Now all I need is an outfit for the awards gala. Oh, and I might get my nails done too.

7 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Book Expo America

  1. banistersmind

    I’m pinching myself right now…and I’m not even going!! I’m very excited for you Michelle and Abbie of course. I trust you will have a great time.

    Oh – & we want tonnes of photos!!

Leave a Reply

