Now on NetGalley: The Goblins of Bellwater

9781771681179For all you reviewers who love stories of the fae-type, we’ve got a great novel coming from the most wonderful, Molly Ringle. The Goblins of Bellwater is a New Adult paranormal inspired by Christina Rossetti’s eerie, sensual poem, “Goblin Market”. It’s the kind of poem that gives you that creepy, crawly feeling up your arms. Here’s an excerpt, but you can read the full, beautiful poem here.


“Hug me, kiss me, suck my juices

Squeez’d from goblin fruits for you,
Goblin pulp and goblin dew.

Eat me, drink me, love me;”


The book is up on NetGalley right now, and after only a day, we’ve received almost 200 requests and the cover has dozens of thumbs-ups. If you like the look of the book, head over to NetGalley to pick up a copy – or just give it some cover-love.

Sneak Peek – The Goblins of Bellwater by Molly Ringle

We have some great books releasing in the next twelve months and we’d like to start showing you what’s coming up.

Today, we’re featuring The Goblins of Bellwater by Molly Ringle. It’ll be out in time for Halloween, an apt time to release a creepy book about goblins that live in the forests of the Pacific Northwest.

Inspired by Christina Rossetti’s spooky, sensual poem “Goblin Market”…

Most people have no idea goblins live in the woods around the small town of Bellwater, Washington. But some are about to find out. Skye, a young barista and artist, falls victim to a goblin curse in the forest one winter night, rendering her depressed and silenced, unable to speak of what happened. Her older sister, Livy, is at wit’s end trying to understand what’s wrong with her. Local mechanic Kit would know, but he doesn’t talk of such things: he’s the human liaison for the goblin tribe, a job he keeps secret and never wanted, thrust on him by an ancient family contract.

Then Kit starts dating Livy, and Skye draws Kit’s cousin Grady into the spell through an enchanted kiss in the woods. Skye and Grady are doomed to become goblins and disappear from humankind forever, unless Livy, the only one untainted by enchantment, can unravel the spell by walking a dangerous magical path of her own.

And without further ado… Here’s the cover! We hope you like it and if you’d like an ARC, just let us know, and we’ll send you one as soon as we can.


9781771681179

Happy New Year – Start Something New

It’s already January 5, and I’m just getting back into the swing of things here at Central Avenue Publishing. Of course, I have a few goals and intentions for the coming year, and I’d like to detail all of those in a coming post, but for now, things are super busy as I try to ready not only our Spring titles for publication, but all submit all of my Fall 2017/Winter 2018 titles to IPG by the end of January. Needless to say, things are a bit crazy right now.

Right now, it’s a time to try something new, and starting tomorrow, Kobo is running an excellent promotion: Start a New Series, and they selected four of our series to be featured. (While we’d love for you to support a fellow Canadian business, they’ll be on sale on all ebook stores.) If you like series, you might be interested in one of ours. We’ve got these four books on sale for $0.99 right now; all are the start of some fantastic storytelling.

 

I also wanted to take a moment to wish you all a lovely New Year and with it, all the good things that this time of year brings. Personally, I want to reinvigorate my love of trying new things. At this stage of life (middle age, kids, work), things are so busy, and I often forget to push myself and put myself out of my comfort zone. So, I started the year off right: by jumping into the icy cold waters of the Canadian Pacific Ocean on New Years Day. You know, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. My only regret is leaving my flip flops on as I waded out deep enough to fully submerge myself. It slowed down the whole process far too much.

Going forward, I’ll continue to try new things, to stretch myself both in work related things and on the personal side too – while hopefully enjoying the whole process of trying, failing or succeeding, and trying again.

I hope you will too.

 

Happy Release to Our Spring Titles!

With all the busy-ness of BEA and getting books ready for Fall, I’ve been completely remiss in congratulating our four authors who have books that launched this spring.

DeanMayesDean Mayes, The Awesome A9781771680394ustralian, released his third full length book, psychological thriller, The Recipient
to strong pre-orders, online buzz and local bookstore support.

 

 


 

TaliaAikensNunezTalia Aikens-Nunez, The New England Knock-Out, released her second book in her perf5.250x8.000.inddaward-winning mid-grade reader, OMG series, OMG… I Did It Again?! to much critical aplomb. Her book has already been favourably reviewed in Kirkus Reviews & Publishers Weekly and will be featured in School Library Journal.

 


Molly Ringle

Molly Ringle, The Seattle Sensation, 9781771680400completed the final book in new adult mythology retelling The Chrysomelia Stories, Immortal’s Spring, to much blogger and reader anticipation. The book was also favourably reviewed by Publishers Weekly.

 


AbbieWilliams

Abbie Williams, The Minnesota Marvel, launched the
second of her Civil War saga Dove trilogy, Soul of a Crow, which has received awards and glowing reviews from Publishers Weekly and Foreword Reviews.

 

So, all in all, a rather successful Spring Season! Congratulations to all these writers and I look forward to the many adventures that still await us.

Persephone’s Orchard Flash Kindle Giveaway

PersOrchWith just a few weeks left before the launch of Molly Ringle’s Immortal’s Spring – the final book in the Chrysomelia Stories – we’re offering up 10 Kindle copies of the book to the first 10 people who comment here. You can either enter your email address in the comments below, or make a comment saying you’re interested and I’ll follow up with you privately.

If you like it, follow it with Underworld’s Daughter and then Immortal’s Spring. FYI – as of May 19, we also see that Amazon has Immortal’s Spring on for super cheap – only $3.82 last time we checked – a great deal from the regular price of $8.99!

Or if you’re interested in some fun swag, enter this giveaway for some cool Underworld-related stuff you’ll actually use!

 

 

CAP New Titles: Spring 2016

We’ve been hard at work preparing for the spring 2016 season. We’ll release four books for our inaugural season with our distributor, IPG, and we couldn’t be more excited as we commence showing them off.

Currently, we’re busy sending out advance reader copies for review to the large trade journals and publications and the final rounds of proofreading.

If you’re a book blogger and you’d like to read a digital edition of one of these books, please email us, we’d love to send you a copy.

So, without further ado… introducing our Spring 2016 lineup:

9781771680394The Recipient – Dean Mayes

Girl on the Train meets Dark Places in this chilling story of a strong but flawed transplant recipient who begins to remember the nefarious reason her donor lost her life.

“A riveting read! All you can think about is turning the next page!” — Georgina Penney, author, Fly In, Fly Out; Irrepressible You; Summer Harvest

May 2016   978-1-77168-038-7   more


9781771680400Immortal’s Spring – Molly Ringle

Fans of Abandon and The Goddess Test will be enchanted by this new story of Persephone and Hades, whose ancient loveaffair is reawakened in the memories of two modern-day youths.

“…jumps right into the action and doesn’t look back!” ~ San Diego Book Review

June 2016  978-1-77168-040-0   more

 


 

Soul of a Crow – Abbie Williams

In the spirit of Cold Mountain comes this saga of tormented Confederate soldiers and a Civil War prostitute as they discover love and family on their journey to a new life in the North.

“…successfully melds historical narrative, women’s issues, and breathless romance with … alluring smidgeons of Celtic ESP.” ~ Publishers Weekly

June 2016   978-1-77168-036-3   more


 

perf5.250x8.000.inddOMG… I Did it Again?! – Talia Aikens-Nunez

Salem Hyde meets The Worst Witch in these fun stories about a girl who discovers her accidental magical powers are strongerthan she realized.

“This fast-paced, humorous book is a fun read.” ~ Susan Heim, Parenting Author and Editor, Chicken Soup for the Soul

May 2016  978-1-77168-034-9    more

Words, Writers & West Seattle Presents Molly Ringle

(Reprinted from the West Seattle Herald)

Molly Ringle smA lifelong fan of folklore and mythology, Molly Ringle has been writing both contemporary fiction and paranormal fiction for over twenty-five years. She will present two novels about the Greek myths next Friday, Sept. 5th: ‘Persephone’s Orchard,’ (Central Avenue Publishing, 2013) the first in the series; and book 2, ‘Underworld’s Daughter’ (Central Publishing, 2014). Past titles include The Ghost Downstairs, Relatively Honest, What Scotland Taught Me, and Summer Term. A love story is always part of the plot, so some of the books are classified as romance too.

With her intense devotion to silly humor, Ringle was especially proud to win the grand prize in the 2010 Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest with one (intentionally) terrible sentence. Molly grew up in the Pacific Northwest, and has lived in West Seattle with her husband and children for almost ten years and other parts of Seattle for a few years before that. Her studies include a bachelor of arts in anthropology and a master of arts in linguistics. She was a Tri-Delta in college in an old sorority house that was supposedly haunted which inspired some of the central ideas for ‘The Ghost Downstairs.’ When not writing, she can often be found experimenting with fragrances, chocolate, and gardening.

The public is invited to this FREE series from 5 to 7PM at Barnes & Noble/Westwood Village. Other local authors will be featured in this free FIRST FRIDAY book talk series in coming months at Barnes & Noble in Westwood Village.

Additional information on future presentations can be obtained by calling Dora-Faye Hendricks, chair, “Words, Writers & West Seattle”, by phone at 206-280-9983, or by e-mail at: Dora-Faye@comcast.net